The Music you listen Programs you

I just came back from a Nine Inch Nails concert. Trent Reznor and his posse humbled themselves to visit good ole Finland. It was fucking amazing.

I feel quite happy I chose Nine Inch Nails in my late teens as one of the bands to program myself, as the title says, the you music you listen to programs you. I would say especially the music you listen to in your youth. It stays with you for the rest of your life. When you’re in the concert and hear the music playing, you can feel the program be activated. It can lay dormant for years. I haven’t been so excited about Nine Inch Nails, or music for that matter in a few years, except for maybe brief periods of time.

The music you imbibe as a teen stays with you, and it can take you back to your youth when you’re older. Music re-wires your consciousness in some way. That’s why you should be very careful about the music you let into to you. I’m not saying everyone should be listening to Nine Inch Nails, but I’m saying listen to music that is real. Don’t listen to some crap because it popular and marketed everywhere. I shudder to think what sort of people teens who listen to Rihanna, Lady Gaga or Justin Biber grow up to be. That stuff is not an expression of someone’s inner yearning. It’s manufactured putty for your brain to consume, and rot.

I feel like coming a full circle or something. Nine Inch Nails’ pre-emo angst and ambiguous morals acquired in my teens have helped me become a better man.

Choose your music wisely.

“If one should desire to know whether a kingdom is well governed, if its morals are good or bad, the quality of its music will furnish the answer.” -Confucius

(Because smug quotes are the best.)

Leave a Reply

