Cubical Earth Model

I was lying in bed wondering about all things conspiratorial, metaphysical and biblical when I had an alternative interpretation for the shape of the earth pop in my head.

If you want to see the model I am proposing, I suggest you skip down to the My Model paragraph. It’s late, I’m half asleep so I ramble on about stuff that probably isn’t news to most people.

 

Flat Earth confessions and Biblical rambling

I don’t consider myself a flat earther, but I am almost a flat earther. The claims of the “scientific” establishment that the earth is spherical sound flimsy at best. The pictures we have of a spherical earth that is actually shaped like an oblate pearoid from NASA are all photoshopped. Moreover I’ve seen plenty of videos from flat earth researchers with weather balloons high up showing no curvature. I’ve seen people show videos showing a city on the other side of a huge lake although the city should be hidden behind curvature. And of course the behaviour of water, i.e. always trying to find level, makes no sense on a sphere. Out in the real world water never behaves like it does on the NASA pictures of the “blue marble” where water curves around the ball. Therefore I don’t think there is curvature.

I also do not think the earth is moving. I reject the heliocentric Copernican model, like most flat earthers. Yet why I don’t consider myself a flat earther is that I don’t subscribe to any particular flat earth model. I don’t necessarily think the earth is flat. Currently though based on what I’ve seen, there seems to be no curvature, i.e. the earth seems flat, but the keyword is “seems”. It is possible we are missing a key piece in puzzle that would turn everything upside down. It is possible (although I don’t think so, yet it is possible) that much of the evidence for flat earth has been faked somehow. So I don’t like to call myself a flat earther. You might think this is an insignificant semantic difference, but it is very significant to me.

What I do believe, however, is that the Bible is the most reliable source of information when it comes to the nature of earth. I don’t consider myself Christian. I do not think that the Bible is necessarily the infallible word of God. I have not found Jesus. I consider myself a skeptic when it comes to most things. This means I tend to resist believing in anything until I have to admit to myself the weight of evidence forces me to believe in what is in front of me. Over the course of many years and theoretical ruminations I have been forced to admit to myself that the Bible usually knows better than all of modernity. Whether its me coming to understand how atheism is deluded cult, or that the Theory of Evolution is a lie or a delusion. I came to understand these things based on reason and observation, which eventually lead me to pay more attention to the Bible.

I don’t know if the Bible is perfect or not, or if it’s been altered or not, or if some sections of it have been cut out. I don’t quite know who or what Jesus is, but as the rulers of this world seem to despise him, there must be something significant about him.

The Bible then is probably the most reliable source when it comes to the shape of the earth (there might be other ancient texts like that, but I don’t know about them). Let’s see some of the basic ideas that flat earther’s usually mention:

1 Chronicles 16:30: “He has fixed the earth firm, immovable.”

Psalm 93:1: “Thou hast fixed the earth immovable and firm …”

Psalm 96:10: “He has fixed the earth firm, immovable …”

Psalm 104:5: “Thou didst fix the earth on its foundation so that it never can be shaken.”

Isaiah 45:18: “…who made the earth and fashioned it, and himself fixed it fast…”

Clearly according to the Bible the earth is unmovable. Very different to the “everything is spinning” -model of Copernicus. The earth is also apparently set on pillars.

1 Samuel 2:8 “For the pillars of the earth are the LORD’s, and on them he has set the world.”

This however opens more questions, such as what are the pillars set on? The Bible also refers to “four corners” of the earth:

Ezekiel 7:2 “An end, the end is come upon the four corners of the land.”

This might mean the earth has four corners, or it might simply be a metaphorical expression.

Genesis 1: 6-7 “And God said, Let there be a firmament in the midst of the waters, and let it divide the waters from the waters.
And God made the firmament, and divided the waters which were under the firmament from the waters which were above the firmament: and it was so.”

I’ve found the notion of the Firmament fascinating even before I really understood what it is. It is some sort of solid substance, like a brass mirror that separates the waters above (outer space in modern parlance) from the waters below on earth. This is usually conceived as some kind of dome, like that of a snow globe.

I believe the Firmament exists, although I don’t know it for a fact. It is not necessarily though shaped like a dome though. As far as I know, the Bible does not describe its exact shape.

The earth seems be a circle of some kind, or there is a circle on the earth:

Proverbs 8:27 “When he established the heavens, I was there; when he drew a circle on the face of the deep,”

Now this passage varies significantly in different translations:

King James: “When he prepared the heavens, I was there: when he set a compass upon the face of the depth:

New Living Translation: “I was there when he established the heavens, when he drew the horizon on the oceans.”

According to my understanding “circle” is the most accurate translation. King James’ “compass” reminds me of the Masonic square and compass. Living Translation’s replacement of “circle” with “horizon” is weird, and seems like deliberate disinformation to me.

Let’s get on with the show. My point is that the Bible does not make clear what the exact shape of the Earth is, but it does mention certain distinctive attributes such as the Firmament and lack of movement. Many flat earthers say the Bible is a flat earth book. I wouldn’t go that far, but certainly the Bible is more a flat earth book than heliocentric spinning ball book.

 

My Model

It’s late, half of my brain is half asleep and finally I can get on with showing the model I came up with. I’ve heard some people mention before that maybe the earth is a cube, but I hadn’t really seen a proper model of it. Anyway, here is the model I envisioned:

The circle of the earth is on the bottom of this cube. The Firmament is the top of the cube, or its “lid”. The cube has walls, probably of some solid material. The reason we don’t see the walls even from a high mountaintop or an airplane is that the earth is so huge, the walls are far, far away. So basically the proportions on the picture are wrong. The circle in the center should be smaller, or the cube around it should be bigger, but you should get the point.

If the earth has pillars, they would probably be under the box, or perhaps they are on the four corners of the box. The blue/green area in the middle would probably be something like the commonly used flat earth map:

 

Perhaps around the edges are the ice walls that many theorize about, or something else. There might be hundreds of thousands of kilometres, maybe even millions, from the edge of the ice wall to the walls of the box.

The box picture above is basically what I imagined. However as I was googling for a suitable cube, I found this crop circle image:

 

It supposedly appeared in 2012 on a field in Britain, I believe. Perhaps that is actually the shape of the earth. On the outside is the circle of the earth, and within the circle is the box. And we are within the box.

One interesting bit I noticed is that if you put “circle inside a cube” into Google image search, you don’t really find any circles inside a cube, but you get pictures of a sphere inside a cube. Were those pictures made by spherical earth Creationists?

I also had an interpretation of outer space, or the blackness we see at night with stars twinkling up there. It might actually be a reflection of hell. Maybe it’s a mirage, an upside down image of hell that is below us. The stars are fallen angels trapped in hell cajoling us with their light. This could be what “as above, so below” means. We don’t see hell from the box, but we see a reflection of it at night. During the day, perhaps we see heaven. This is just an idea though.

I don’t believe in this cube model myself either. Yet the idea popped into my head so I thought I should share it. Maybe someone else has already come up with a similar model, but I haven’t seen it yet.

 

Links:

Thinking outside the box: ‘Crop cube’ that looks like a 250ft 3D block appears in field of wheat: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2209554/Crop-cube-looks-like-250ft-3D-block-appears-field-wheat.html

One thought on “Cubical Earth Model”

  1. It is largely accepted in mainstreams scholarship that the Bible describes a flat earth cosmology. As far as I know the most detailed ‘Christian’ description of the earth is the Christian Topography of Cosmas Indicopleustes.

    But flat earth cosmology is not unique to the Bible or Christianity. There are many texts that describe or at least imply a flat earth. The most detailed flat earth cosmologies exist within Jainism, Buddhism, and Hinduism.

Leave a Reply

